Hair colour removal - Help!

MissJuly10

Reaction score
Hi ladies. :wave:

I've been dying my hair black for a few years (2 or 3) and am now bored of it and want to go lighter, hopefully a shade of blonde. My natural colour is a mousey brown/dark blonde...Been YEARS since I've had completely natural colour! Anyways, it's growing out at the moment, prob got around an inch and half growth where I've not dyed it, I don't really want to keep growing it out as the contrast in my natural colour and dyed colour is very obvious. My hair is quite long, probably just coming past my bra clasps at the back and it's taken me three years to grow it so long and so I don't really want to cut it short to encourage it to grow!

I've been looking at hair colour remover kits but unsure what to do as there's obviously various opinions on the remover kits and I've no idea if it will work.

My cousin tried the Scott Cornwall colour B4 kit to get a dark red out of her hair, it turned bright neon orange with orange roots....She put a brown on the top and it went straight back to the colour it was before she tried to remove it! :dohh:

Salon has quoted me a fortune to have it done and even took a snip of my hair, bleached it and showed me the end result and it was a coppery blonde/brown but very very dry. Plus, I would want to end up with the colour I want pretty quickly rather than wait weeks with a potentially awful hair colour in between.

Any opinions would be great. :) x x

I did buy a brand in boots a while back and it took out my black amazingly! Cost about 10 pounds x

I'm just terrified it will bugger my hair up! Did you go back to your natural colour or just lighter? I don't mind if it's just lighter cos I want to put a light brown/dark blonde on it x x