fathers signing rights away

udonteno

Reaction score
a question for anyone who has thought of or experienced asking the father to sign his rights away. i'm a uk citizen so our laws apply.
the father is someone i saw on a pretty casual basis for a year, now i'm pregnant and he aggressively told me he doesn't want it, i'd be stupid to keep it, i'm incapable of looking after it, then haven't heard from him for 2 weeks..
i'm leaning towards keeping it, but scared of dealing with him, if not now then after the birth and during the child's life. thinking he could turn around later and want custody or something though i've carried it and looked after it without him seeming to care.
so i'm considering whether to suggest, if he really doesn't want it, if he wants to sign his parental rights away. what's in the interests of the child - to have no daddy, or one that potentially drops in and out of its life?
one aspect is the financial situation. i'm a professional 30-something woman with a decent sort of job earning just slightly more than the average.. but, I want to take maternity leave for at least 6 months and get to know my child if i have it.. ideally. if the father signs his rights away i assume i would have no recourse to the csa. at the moment he would owe at my estimation about £300 per month which is no small sum. is it more in the child's interests for me to get that money and use it to provide for their wellbeing?