Experiences with Midwives?

Ruby Carter

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a student midwife doing an assignment on the midwifery support you value or need. What do you expect from a midwife, what do you value from your midwife and feel free to share any stories. I would greatly appreciate this!! <3

Aside from getting the baby out safely, I would expect a midwife to listen to my wishes and understand that not everyone is the same re. pain. Unfortunately two of mine tried to pressure me into things I didn't want in labour. When I was induced I was told by two midwives that things I found really painful (the bulb, and having my waters broken) had "never hurt anyone else".

I will let you know when I meet mine next week. I’m autistic so I’m worried at the moment that I won’t be listened to when I explain that there are certain things I can’t do (use telephones for example) and that not being in control of a situation makes me more anxious that a neurotypical person.

With my first I had the worst time at the hospital, most midwives were agreeable but some were rude. Without my consent, they gave my daughter formula and rolled in the pump as soon as I got into my room. I was forced to wake my daughter up every 3 hours to try breastfeeding, give formula, then pump for 45 minutes. I had no rest, and felt very overwhelmed. One midwife told me I was not doing my daughter any favours trying to breastfeed while she didn't have a good suction reflect yet. Another one told me that my daughter was crying a lot because she was going hungry since I could barely produce milk. Not only was I exhausted after not sleeping for 2 days, their arrogance was enough to make me cry. I have a thick skin but that was just horrible. They made me feel like I could not take care of my child while I wanted nothing more than to be able to feed her. I think it's important for midwives to give new mothers confidence in their caring abilities.