Essex Mums - Hospital Advice

Guadagnia

Reaction score
Hi ..
Im new to Essex and expecting my second child Dec, I have been given the choice of St Peters Hopsital in Maldon, or Broomfileld Hospital in Chelmsford.

My first child was more or less a problematic birth with a 3 hour labour and ventouse extraction, so the next one could be quick... :D

Any advice good or bad would be appreciated.

Guadagnia

i had alice in southend, so i don't have any personal experience... but im pretty sure my mate gave birth in Broomfileld :think: il drop her a text and see if she did what she thought of it (although he is approaching 3 now :) )

hey im from colchester so gave birth here but id have thought chelmsford would have been better

turns out i got the completely wrong hospital :doh:

i would ask to go and have a walk around both hospitals.

Sam&Alice said:
turns out i got the completely wrong hospital :doh:

i would ask to go and have a walk around both hospitals.

I agree with Sam, if you're unsure have a look round both, that way you can make your own decision

I believe Broomfield Hospital's maternity unit is located at St. John's Hospital in Chelmsford. I have read this on a website about the NHS. Have a look:-

http://www.meht.nhs.uk/trust/trust_intro.htm

I had my first son at St. John's back in 1990. I cannot fault the treatment I received there. I was an in-patient in the Ante-Natal ward for 4 1/2 weeks before I had my son by elective c-section (due to pre-eclampsic toxaemia). After the section I stayed in St. John's post natal ward for another week and a half. (I think the stay is shorter now though).

I was offered the choice of 3 hospitals from my GP, Harold Wood (which is now closed and the maternity moved to Romford), Broomfield or Basildon.