Work issues.....

mouse9210

Reaction score
Hi - I hope I'm in the right place...cuz I'm 26 + 1 that makes me in the 27th week right?? Sorry if I'm too eager to be over here....very excited to be on the final stretch!

I was wondering if you could help me out....

I work in a school and plan to work up to the end of the summer term (20th July) - and then have 6 weeks summer holiday before my baby is due end of the holidays. This means that I would get pad right up to my due daye which would def come in handy!! I haven't worked here long enough to get maternity pay, so will only get 39 weeks maternity allowance you see.

But, I am starting to struggle at work (I have to lug a laptop around and am on my feet and moving about all day) - the bigger I get, the hearder it is to get throught the day, and my back has started hurting.

I was wondering how common/acceptable it is to get signed of work for the last few weeks of term - means I wouldn't lose any pay......

Sorry to sound like such a moaner!!
Any adviev would be so gratefully received!!!

x

I'm not sure how it works in your area, but I assume that you dont intend to work when school returns in September? If so, you ought to check when you have to hand your notice in - where I am its a half terms notice, which is end of this week is it not?

I think if you are struggling its worth speaking to your MW or Dr about getting a fit for work certificate. Could they adapt your working so you dont have to lug the laptop around (do they have a secure place to store it at the school?) and to make sure you adequate rest breaks?
x

I'm not sure how it works in your area, but I assume that you dont intend to work when school returns in September? If so, you ought to check when you have to hand your notice in - where I am its a half terms notice, which is end of this week is it not?