What questions to ask?

Miracle babe

Reaction score
Hi there I'm not here yet am expecting in September but I have had to arrange childcare for when I go back to work in March 07. I'm a school teacher and hope to go back 3 days a week. Both sets of parents have offered to help out with a day each and for the third day I have had a lady recommended to me by two other members of staff who speak very highly of her. I have an appointment to see this lady on Tuesday afternoon and know I need to be asking lots of questions but have no idea where to start. Can you please hep me to compile a list of questions that I should be asking this lady. I'm really nervous about leaving my child with anyone and want to make sure I've covered every option.
Thanks
xxxxxxxxxxxx
Stace

Sorry you didn't get any replies. Perhaps you could try posting it in the ask a mum section? Maybe more people will see it there. Sorry I can't advise as I have never used a child minder but I hope you get the answers you are looking for.

Ask about nappy changes eg is it every hour or so or every time they need it. If she does a poo at 5 past will she have to sit in it for a hour?

What kind of activities do they do? Are they allowed outside?
If strangers come it, are they allowed to look round the room where you child is? Do visitors have to sign in and out?

Is food cooked on site?
If they don't eat at dinner time is food offered to them later?
Do they label your bottles etc?
HOw do they handle allergies (useful to get a feel of stuff like this even if your child doesn't have them.

What happens if you are running late to collect your child?
What happens if you want someone else to pick up your child?

How are sleep times handled?

The ratio for her age should be 3:1, when you had a look round was this the case? I once looked round a nursery as a mystery shopper and they took Brody on top of the ratio, so it was 4:1