Warning-Big Rant- my boss is a nightmare

fothers

Reaction score
I have had a crap day at work yesterday and have been fuming ever since and have spent the last few hours lying awake so thought I might as well get up.

Please excuse the rant I just wanted to get it off my chest......

I work as a vet for a practice owned by 1 man- he is about 55, never been married, never had kids, has no friends with kids- typical male chauvinist boss. He probably really thinks pregnant women should just be shot which is a bit of a shame since approx 80% of his staff are females of child bearing age. There is no practice manager or hr dept or anything- basically just him.

A few weeks ago he started bullying a younger colleague who is now about 27w pregnant. We work in quite a dangerous environment really- xrays, drugs, anaesthetic gases and dangerous animals that are obviously very problematic if you are pregnant and we also do on call out of hours so I would need to go and do these type of things in the middle of the night too when there is no one else there.

He has not done any of the health and safety checks you are supposed to do etc and a few weeks ago I phoned and spoke to a local health and safety executive who said it was basically illegal what he was doing and what he expects us to do- ie exactly the same as before. We have no staff room etc so need to make drinks from the sink used to clean cat litters trays and stuff and eat lunch off the tables where we do operations and dentals. The health and safety man was obviously not happy with this and said he would do an inspection but I have said it would need to be anonymous as if he said that an employee had reported it then it would be obvious who it was and make life at work even worse- hopefully he should be round soon.