• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Temperature help please URGENT

*Star*

Reaction score
amelia is very irritable, full of a cold and snotty.
i took her temperature in her ear with a thermometer and it varied from 37.4-38.1
but i think the thermometer is too big to fit in her ear canal properly.

i then used a digital thermometer tice under her arm and it came back with 37.4. am i right in saying that under the arm is between 1-2 degrees lower than what the actual temperature is.

Read NIE's post purple13 explains about underarm temp in there :hug:

(bear in mind that mouth/ear temp is the most accurate - underarm usually shows .3 - .5 degrees lower than actual)

it's the fact she's only 9 weeks old tomorrow.

ill go ring the dr i think

I'm a nursery nurse and if a child (especially under 2) gets a temp over 37.5 (underarm) we consult the parents straight away so they can deside if they wish to consult a doctor.

We get as much fluid in as possible, water obviously being the best. We also try to reduce the amount of clothing the child is wearing.

We keep checking the tempreture every 15 mins and keep a note of it incase the doctor asks.

Hope your little one feels better soon.

x

well i rung and asked if i could give her calpol, the receptionsist gave me the number for the pharmacist and he said that i can give her a 2.5 dose of calpol. i can give her a 2nd one after 4 hours but no more than that.

im keping her injust a nappy. she's breastfed so i'll feed her often.

shes not happyy, but ill see how she goes with his calpol.

thanks - ill check out that website now.

ok she had the calpol about 25 mins ago and she seems a lot cooler to the touch. going to try and get her to sleep now, hopefully a good nap will help.

thanks everyone :hug: