sorry about the subject matter but please advise!

trixipaws

Reaction score
i am 25 and nearly 10 weeks pg, this is my first time. i kno its a long way off but i hav a question about the actual birth- and i must warn u its (ahem) a sensitive subject! my boyfriend's brother's wife was here earlier, she is also pg for the first time, and her due date is only 16 days after mine, so we're both excited. she asked me which hospital i wanted it at, and i told her i wanted mine at home, in one of those birth-pool things. she said what if i pooed and it came floating up! i knew it was possible to poo during childbirth, but i hadnt really considered this. so my question is: actually how common IS it?! sorry i kno no-one will wanna talk about it, but i just need some stats- who did and who didnt? please be honest! also if anyone can tell me how to avoid it. is it safe to eat nothing for 48 hours so there's no poo there?!
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

if you do poo you will do it withoutrealising it as you are more concerned with pushing bubba out,you get a seive net with a home birth pool so you can fish out all the bits anyway :puke:

Its very rare... but not unheard of that a woman poos during labour. Your bowel normally gets rid of everything in it just beofre of in the early stages of labour.

Is your sister in law just trying to scare you hun?
Doesnt sound like a nice thing to get you worried about :?

Also because it is your first pregnancy your midwife might advise a hospital birth. I no its embarrassing but talk to your midwife about all your worrys, it will make you feel so much better and shes heard it 100 times before

:hug: xx

its common but midwives are very discreet and don't tell you - they just clear it up quietly.

my midwife told me when she sees poo she gets excited coz she knows a baby wil follow soon.