smelly colleague at work

laetitia85

Reaction score
There is a guy at my workplace, the WHOLE team is always complaining about his smell, he's got very, very, very bad body oudor and extremey unpleasant bad breath... there are no fancy words to describe it, the guy stinks!

Two weeks ago my boss asked me to sit next to him and I took him to the side and told him: "i don't mean to be rude, sorry if this sounds horrible but **** has got very bad body odour and I feel unconfortable sitting next to him". and the boss looked at me, and carried on "especially his breath, I know"...

We don't know what to do about him, maybe write an anomymous letter but that would be mean, wouldn't it? how can we tell him that his smell is becoming unbearable?

this is a genuine concern, he is making it hard for us to concentrate, it's that bad.

it's horrible but when I was a manager alot of my staff came to me and asked me to speak to a certain person that was a bit smelly.

I put out a Memo to all the staff saying that customers had complained of some of the staffs personal hygene and apperance and that everyone all had to smarten up as we deal direct with the public.

Maybe try that first?!?!?!

Maybe leave a can of deodorant and pack of mints on his desk before he gets into work one morning?

Maybe he'll take the hint and then no-one will have to go through the embarassment of actually having to talk to him about it?

In all honesty it is your manager's job to deal with this. :( If it is that severe a problem they should speak directly to them, whether its part of a review or whatever. I've had to do this and whilst it isn't pleasant, its part of being a manager.

I've also had to ask members of the public to leave the building where their body odour is sooo unpleasant that we had complaints, that's even less fun. :shock:

And I once had to ask a woman to put her jacket on as the top she had on didn't even cover her nipples :rotfl: