Service in Shops

SarahH

Reaction score
What do you think about the debate in the news recently about poor sales service in the UK (the Edwina Curry at Mothercare thingy!)

I must admit I do agree and I have been a shop assitant myself, but at the same time, some customers do deserve a right good kick up the ar*e!

With living in the states before... the service you receive there is so much better than here... they will go out of their way to help you. And they do ACTUALLY mean it when the say "have a nice day!"

I used to work as a sales assistant and think that some times its hard to be nice to people. People think that because you work there they can talk down to you. If some one was rude or had an attitude on id probebly just ignore them and walk off :rotfl:

I know what you mean... but sometimes assitants anre mean when you are being plainly nice to them.

I used to have some crackers of customers.... the worst was when I worked in the Circulation Dept of a newspaper... I was in charge of the sales to home delivery customers. On one of the occations the managment put the cost of the morning journal up from 32p to 37p and I had soooo many complaints... one guy came in and said "do you know the national avergae rate of inflation is 2%... what you have done is 8.995365 blah blah% - GET A LIFE MAN!!! But you still have to smile sweetly and appologise!

I worked in Retail for years and although I agree it can be tough to a handful of custiomers overall it's easy to just be polite and acknowledge people.

What pees me off in shops is being IGNORED! When the cashier's chatting to her colleague about Eastenders whilst taking £50 of your money is just out of order.

Or the assistant who rolls their eyes and sighs when you ask a question. Just because someone else (who you didn't even know about) just asked them the same thing.

Hand on heart, I was never rude to people like that :D