Redundancy coinciding with maternity leave!!!!

Vicxzy

Reaction score
Please help, does anyone know where I stand?
I'm due 19th of June, work are talking about redundancys & they will announce them beginning of April, I'll then have to work a months notice if it's me during which time they will try to redeploy me (along with 100s of others into just a few jobs!) which will take me to beginning of May, coincidentally just when I was hoping to start mat leave :( what will happen to me? Can they make me redundant if I'm pregnant or will they still have to pay me redundancy? I'm so stressed :( x

have you told them you're pregnany yet?

get a meeting with HR asap, whee do you work out of interest?

Yes they know, I can't meet with HR although I don't work in HR my boss oversees both us & HR :( I work in the public sector that's all I can say x

I work at an FE college hun and we're going through similar. My manager told me to get all the maternity forms in as quick as I could to safeguard me for if/when they announce redundancies. As shit as it is on your colleagues (apparently) you are almost untouchable if you are pregnant/going on mat leave when they are bringing redundancies in.

I have joined the union today though just incase because the senior team are telling some right porkies at the moment so i don't trust any of them.

I've just gone through the same thing, public sector, I found out that I was in scope for redundancy in August, but I wouldn't find out until 22nd November!! I started my maternity leave 25th October not knowing if I had a job to go back too.

Thankfully when on maternity leave there is such a thing as regulation 10 of the maternity & parental leave regulations 1999, it is required to make you a suitable offer.

Tbh making someone redundant who is pregnant or maternity leave is a tribunal waiting to happen.

Get in the union as GMB have been brilliant for me and it's only 5p a week once on leave.

Good luck x