On the topic of maternity leave

moss

Reaction score
I'm really down about this. I was being led to believe my temporary contract would definitely be extended but it is ending this week because of university budget cuts. They really wanted to keep me on and are going to fall way behind in my department because the only other woman in my office works 15 hours a week maximum and has just returned from maternity leave. This also means there is a very good chance I won't get any kind of maternity pay. I'm a student as well and not on benefits so I can't get the Sure Start Grant. I'm in deep trouble! I am trying to get something temporary until the last minute before the baby arrives, but it's hard to find work in Dundee. I have no idea how I am going to survive. My husband has a job but it isn't very well paid, we are both students and too old to delay studying any longer (besides then I would lose my student loan and free council tax)... I just don't know what to do! I keep having to stop myself from crying in my office! It is so embarrassing!

Can you claim Maternity Allowance, it isn't paid by your employers. Basically you fill in a form ( a very long one!) and you can then send them 15 (i think) weeks payslips from ANYTIME during the last 66 weeks - so you can choose your highest paid ones and then you will either get the maximum of around £117 a week or if your average weekly income is less than that then it is 90% of the average.

I'll find a link for you

http://www.jobcentreplus.gov.uk/JCp/Customers/WorkingAgeBenefits/Dev_008115.xml.html
That's also got a link to the form which you can fill in online and print off or just print off and hand fill.
I don't know your circumstances but you should be able to claim that!