• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

maternity pay question

boolie

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I'm new in the country and would like to ask a few questions.

I am employed since a few months back, full time and permanent. If / when I will have a baby in the future, will I receive statutory maternity pay or maternity pay? (or are there others?) Which is the "better" one?

I read somewhere that one of them is 90% of your pay for 6 weeks, and then 123 pounds every week? is this on top of what your employer will pay or am I missing something out? How can you get by on 123 pounds a week?

I work in education.

If someone could shed some light to my concern, Id be ever so grateful.

it depends on how long u have been employed for...

if you have a look on www.directgov.co.uk you will find out more on there, smp is paid via ur employer and thats 90% of pay for 6 weeks then 33 weeks at £124 n thats all you get,

MP (i think) is £124 and thats all you get (thats if you have been employed for less than 6 months when ur pregnant, i think)

good luck,

Also if your new to the country you might b under constrictions?

you are entitled to Maternity Pay if youve been employed for 26 weeks in the same company before your 15th week of pregnancy. this is 90% of wages for 6 weeks then the rest of the time £124 a week (for like 9 months or a bit less than that) but like the others say i dont know how it works if you havent lived in this country for very long. youll have to do some research! x

as the girls have said depends on how long you have worked there. where have you come from? i hope you manage to get the answers you want. xx

Users who are viewing this thread

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member