Low Lying Placenta

ems72

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a newbie to this site, due 29th June :D

I have a question about low lying placenta.

I had a bleed at 30 weeks and a scan showed that I have a low lying placenta. They re-scanned me at 33 weeks and 36 weeks and it is still low. It's not covering the cervix but it is still close. They are scanning me again at 38 weeks. If it's still low they will discuss a c-section which they will probably carry out at 39 weeks.

Has anybody else suffered this? I'd be interested to hear your story.

Thanks
Emma

36+5 wks

I am of no help in this, but just wanted to say welcome :cheer:

Hope your low lying placenta does not cause too many problems. is it right that they book the c-section to try and get baby out before you would go into natural labour?

I hope everyone goes well for you :hug:

I had a lot of problems getting a straight answer because I had this diagnosed at my first scan (which ended up being at 23 weeks but that's another story) so they booked me in for a repeat scan at 28 weeks. I had a growth scan 4 weeks later to check that bub was on track and then they checked the placenta, all looked clear but they recommended I go back the following week where they wouldn't focus on the baby, just the placenta.

At that one I was told I had an "accessory lobe" (which is an extra bit of placenta that doesn't do anything but has a blood supply so can still be a problem) partially covering my cervix. Was to go back at 32 weeks (I think). At that scan I had to pee ridiculously but the sonographer took a look and said that the placenta was a full 7.2cm away from my cervix. Whether or not it moved that much in just a few weeks I don't know but I'm not convinced they had a clue because when I asked the midwife after the birth about this "accessory lobe" she said there was none and it was a perfectly normal placenta.