Landlords....... Making me skint!!

lewlew

Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently living in a 2 bed apartment, with me, my daughter, my partner and the bump!

My contract doesn't run out until Sept but having spoken to the Landlord they have said if i pay £464 release fee, i can end my tenancy.......

However, they are now saying i cant move until they get new tenants and still want me to pay rent.... £550 pcm.

I have found a new house, which i want to move in, but obviously need to pay rent £525, bond £500 and admin fee's to the new estate agents.....

Does anybody know my rights regarding my current landlords? e.g if i'm paying the £464 fee why do i still have to pay rent?? I'm a student nurse and not on a huge income, so there is no way i can afford rent on 2 places.

Advice would be much appreciated!!!

Thanks xxx

hmmm paying that i thought you have a right to mve coz you need a big place ie neer know a landlord to do that at all if you payed a bond wont that not cover it if you have to your est bet is to going to citizens advice theyll be able to help you more im pretty sure you can end your tenancy with giving 2 weeks notice?

i would also check your tenancy agreement to check if any thing is in it like theses things here:-
Can the tenant leave during the tenancy?

If the tenant has a fixed term tenancy but wants to move out before the end of the term, he or she can only do so if landlord agree or if this is allowed for by a “break clause” in the tenancy agreement and the tenant has followed any requirements for giving notice specified in the tenancy agreement.
If the agreement does not allow the tenant to leave early and landlord do not agree that he or she can break the agreement, the tenant will be contractually obliged to pay you the rent for the entire length of the fixed term.