Hi - can you help a newbie??

baby 4 me

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am brand new at this and I'm very confused! I've read a bit about everything to do with conceiving a baby but would like some advice from those in the know - i.e. you guys! I'll tell you a wee bit about myself first.

I'm 29 years old, have no children as yet (fingers crossed) and have hypothyroidism (I've read this can hamper attempts to get pregnant) I'm on meds for the hypo though which seems to control everything pretty well.

I stopped taking the pill about 2 years ago (not to get pregnant, but because of a family health issue) and my periods have been erratic ever since. My cycle is anywhere between 29 and 47 days long - argh! I've been to the docs for all the relevant tests and he confirmed that everything is working just fine :D

ANYWAY - here's the thing I need advice on. I had my period from 23rd Dec to 26th Dec. We made the decision to "baby-make" in the new year and had sex on 3rd Jan and tonight (I'm in Australia just now so we are ahead of you by 9 hours!!) I experienced the thick CM on 4th Jan, had a neg OV test on 6th Jan (no 2nd line at all) and a line which was lighter than the control line today. Because I'm so confused I would like to know if I've missed my window of opportunity this time round or if it's still to come?? Sorry for being dense! Just let me know if you need any other info.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Baby 4 me xx

If you have long cycles that vary in length, chances are you could occasionally be like me and have more than one patch of fertile cm before you actually ovulate. Best thing to do is assume you haven't ovulated yet and keep bd-ing until you either get a positive opk or a positive hpt!