Anyone do student nursing course?

lozzi

Reaction score
Just being nosey really... How many hours a week is it for study(at uni) and placements?

Is it do-able to work p/t ALONGSIDE the course?

hi lozzi :hug:

i'm a student nurse, on a year out just now.

i'm usually in uni 3/4 days a week for 4 hours each day.

placements are different lengths, but work out around three 12 hour shifts a week - for however many weeks.

i had a part time job during my first year and it was do-able. worked in a nursing home - 2 x 12 hour shifts at the weekend - i defo couldn't manage it with a baby though. i probably won't work when i go back to uni in september because of the little man.

BUT - you get your bursary which is just over £500 a month, and i think you get extra if you have children, for childcare etc.

hope that helps, anything else just ask :D it's a fab course btw, i can't wait to get back :D

xxxx

sarafet said:
hi lozzi :hug:

i'm a student nurse, on a year out just now.

i'm usually in uni 3/4 days a week for 4 hours each day.

placements are different lengths, but work out around three 12 hour shifts a week - for however many weeks.

i had a part time job during my first year and it was do-able. worked in a nursing home - 2 x 12 hour shifts at the weekend - i defo couldn't manage it with a baby though. i probably won't work when i go back to uni in september because of the little man.

BUT - you get your bursary which is just over £500 a month, and i think you get extra if you have children, for childcare etc.

hope that helps, anything else just ask :D it's a fab course btw, i can't wait to get back :D

xxxx

oooo hadnt thought anything about bursarys!

Is the bursary for the length of the course?

lozzi being single and with bebe,, you will get near on 700 a month plus child tax credits.. do you need to work :rotfl: (maybe even more, i got this 3 years ago)

i did 3 years as student nurse quiting just before final exams coz i was too pregnant to carry on.