1st appt today - what to ask?

orangefluff

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a newbie to all this, 9 weeks pregnant with my 1st but didnt find out til 8 weeks and I haven't got a clue about it all!

I've got my first appointment later today about the pregnancy - have been to the docs once already to get it confirmed and find out how far gone I am. I don't know yet my due date or exactly how far gone I am so feeling very in the dark at the mo Noone knows except my mum and hubby.

My doctor is doing it as there wasn't an appt with the midwife - will this mean I get less info? I really want to know what's hapenning and basically what sort of things will I be told and what should I ask about?

Any advice would be very much appreciated as I feel totally on my own at the mo! (hubbys away and i live far from my mum)

xxx:help:

Tbh a lot of it is just paperwork! Questions about your family history, your lifestyle, diet etc. You should be given a pregnancy book and lots of other leaflets and things. You'll probs have a blood test if doc didn't do one already, and they might check your urine for protein levels. You don't really get a proper due date till your dating scan :)

i think all they do is tell you how to keep healthy. ask you about your birthing plans. take your weight and height possibly do blood and urine tests etc nothing to worry about i have been told. i got mine on Fri lol :) thats about all i know.

Thanks girls my mum said its a good idea to write down what I want to ask as there is a tendancy to forget once you get in there! I've text hubby and asked him if he knows anything about issues his side of the family so hopefully he'll get back to me.

This probably sounds silly but how do you all know exactly how many weeks and days gone you are for your things at the bottom of your messages? If you havent had dating scan yet do you just estimate? So if the doc said I was 9 weeks yesterday, I'd say I was 9 weeks +1 day?