Telling family.. *update ive told mum*

Beth88

Reaction score
Not sure if this is the right place..

Im not very far into this pregnancy (i dont think i am anyway, not sure yet) but i really want to tell my parents. I'm only 20 and im a student at uni away from home, so its quite important for me to tell my mum & dad.. So far, only my OH and close friends and housemates know..

How do you think i should tell them? any suggestions? i was on the pill, so this is gonna be one massive shock to them, as it was to me, and they dont have the 8 pregnancy tests to look at and get used to! ha. Well i dunno what to say, theyre on holiday at the momnt in Gran Canaria, and theyre back next Monday, so i was thinking maybe write a letter and post it to my house? no? too impersonal? should i call them? i dunno... i definitely dont wanna do it face to face!
Thanks

unless you're planning to visit them in the very near future... i'd phone them..

in fact scap that and phone them first, but they will probably want to see you.

dont worry about it overly, my parents always suprise me with their love and understanding!

Definately dont tell anyone else that might have contact with them, they need to hear it from yo

I dont think a letter is the best way hunny! i think unless your planning to visit them anytime soon, ring them!

i regret the way i told my folks (they arn't together!) - my OH told my mum as i couldnt spit it out and i got my mum to phone my dad - i wish i had had the guts to tell them becuase they were fine about it, although dad was a bit upset i didnt tell him myself, so im guessing your folks will be upset with you if you only write a letter - its going to be a big shock for them anyway hun!

good luck :hug: