Struggling to latch on left side

x_larlybelle_x

Reaction score
Henry is only a day old so I'm very new at this! In recovery after my section, he latched on to my right side. He has feed 6 times since he was born at 10.06 yesterday. Only 2 of these he has managed to feed from the left - and it took us a long time to latch on and he started getting frustrated. I stayed calm and managed to get him on.

Do any of u have any tips for stopping side preference? I don't wanna be a lopsided mummy! Lol!

We had a couple of problems a few times, must admit I can't remember if it was on a certain side or not. When the midwife visited the next day and she had a look and showed me how to hold it with a c shaped hand which helped the shape of it so he could latch on. Can't help more than that I'm afraid! He is gorgeous, well done!

My lo preffered the right side to the left side, so i always offererd him the left boob first. I found he didnt empty as much as the right so would express sometimes from the left while he was feeding from the right iykwim. Have u got any breastfeeding support groups near you? They could help load too.

It could be your hold. I always thought I held Owen the same on both sides but my OH told me different so I fed in front of the mirror and realised that he was lying completely differently. It might be worth a try to see if that helps

x

Thanks pinky :D

Amy - they have bf support groups each day in my area. Will get DH to take me to one if he doesnt latch. He latched on easily enough about 20 mins ago so hoping it was first day awkwardness.

Catty will give that a go if he struggles again.