gestational diabetes

Mrs DPJ Heath

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am 25 weeks with my first baby and had my 25 week midwife appt yesterday which didn't go quite to plan! glucose+++ and ketones++ showed up in my routine urine check! She has referred me to the diabetic unit to have the glucose test! have googled this prob the worst thing to do as now i am in a complete state! and worrying about baby and having this condition long term!! has anyone else had this? am feeling scared and very anxious!

I've not had anything show up but because my first son was a bouncer (just under 9lb) they've referred me for glucose tolerance testing as, apparently, bigger babies can sometimes indicate that you may be prone to gestational diabetes. Am having the tests in December.
I'm no expert, but if you do have GD then at least they've recognised it and can give you the best possible advice to help both you and baby.
xxx

Thankyou RachelJ for your message, you are right at least I can get my blood sugars under control and make sure baby is safe.

Hey I have GD :) im one of the unlucky ones to be put straight on insulin...have been for 8 weeks now. Its ok, I just have to watch what I eat. Most GD can be controlled with diet changes. They also said my levels were highly suspicious that I had a pre existing type 2 :(

However, with regards to baby...if you can get your sugar levels under control there shouldnt be any major problems. The baby MAY find it difficult to regulate its own sugars when born but will only need a drip for a day to sort it out. The other concern they have is that their tummys grow larger, but you will be offered extra scans etc if you are diagnosed and they will keep a close eye on you!

Also, Im being induced at 38 weeks as they rarely let you go full term...

Any other question PM me if you like xx

Don't worry too much, I think worrying only makes you worse. At least they have found out for you so now you are able to look after yourself a bit better.