Can waters leak then stop?

Icecream

Reaction score
I know waters can leak bit by bit, but this seems strange.

Last night I got out of bed about four/five times to go to the toilet, which I have never done before (usually only once in the night), but the liquid was different. It certainly seemed more like water than urine.

It was only a trickle each time and now I feel fine and it seems to have stopped. Has anyone else had this and is it my waters or am I imagining things?

Hun i'd ring your midwife and she will probably advise you to ring the hospital.
Although its nothing to be worried about so don't panic.
Once the waters have broken they can't seel back up and because of that infection can get in if left over a long period of time.
Thats why the hosptial advise you to wait until your contractions are 3 minutes apart or until your waters have broken before coming into the labour ward.
I'd check it out just to be safe x x

I suppose so. I would just feel really really stupid if it isn't anything, especially since I haven't had any contractions or any other signs whatsoever.

I can't ring the midwife cos they're only in the surgery 1 day a week. I would have to ring one of the hospital numbers wouldn't I?

BTW: My midwife hasn't advised me anything. They are useless round here, I'd be completely lost without this forum.

I feel like that sometimes.....this forum is a saciour at times......my MW is only available once a week at the surgery too...although in saying that to her defence she has given me a mobile number I can call during normal office hours but I hate bothering people so I know I would only ring it if I felt it was an emergency situation, in which case my DF would call hospital anyway :wall:

If it is your waters, then as TD says will be worth giving the labour ward a quick call just to inform them - they may just say to carry on and see what happens, I hope you have your baby soon, would be brill if you had baby on your due date wouldn't it :cheer: