Cake help plz!

Tangerinedream

Reaction score
Any cake making experts here?

I made a Weetabix cake (slimming world recipe). I just took it out of the oven and tried to put it onto the cooling rack but most of it is stuck to the tin! I followed the instructions very carefully and used a non-stick cake tin. Is it because it didnt cook for long enough? Im gutted now. The top bit looks perfect but the middle underneath is really sloppy :( Is there anything I can do to rescue it?

Im not very experienced with cake making.

what's a weetabix cake? what ingredients? I go to slimming world and I've never heard of it :think:

I've got to say a lot of SW recipes don't work if you follow their instructions - it always takes trial and error - the lemon couscous cake I make from there I have to bake for 1 1/2 times the amount of time they say

I was going to bake this afternoon - but I just ate a chocolate cookie instead - as far as I'm concerned when AFs here - I can eat anything I want :shakehead:

I know the feeling. OH just bought a HUGE dairy milk and guess who had some :oops:

Here is the weetabix cake recipe

2 Weetabix
113g/4oz sultanas
142ml/5floz skimmed milk
142ml 5floz water
113g/4oz self-raising flour
1 teaspoon mixed spice
14g/½ oz artificial sweetener (optional)
1 egg, beaten

1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC, 350ºF or Gas Mark 4

2. Put the Weetabix and sultanas in a bowl. Pour the milk and water over the top and leave to soak up all the liquid.

3. Stir in the flour, mixed spice, sweetener and beaten egg.

4. Spoon the mixture into a 454g (1lb) lined/non-stick loaf tin and bake in the preheated oven for 1¼ hours until cooked.

5. Cool on a wire rack before serving then cut into 12 slices.

Serves: 12
Syns per serving:
3½ Syns on both choices

At least my house smells lovely mmmmmmmmm