Anyone work term time hours?

aramintalovegrove

Reaction score
Now in an ideal world i would love to be a SAHM but I cant afford it so have been thinking about what would be best for me as Im going to be torn being away from my baby :cry:

Anyone do term time hours? how does this work re what your hours actually are and is it beneficial for you and the kids?

Im in the position that my childminder is a very good friend but she has a challenging behaviour son that lives away and if he comes on home visits she cant have Es, this will be in school hols so term time hours seem good :)

my perception of term time hours is that you do the equivalent of 30 hours which consists of shorter hours during the week so you get some time with the kids and then have school hols off im just a bit confused about hours this totals and wages per annum, anyone able to enlighten me?

thank yous!!

I do but I am a teacher and haven't had my contract yet (stupid HR) so don't actually know how much I am getting paid or for how many hours :lol:

Your arrangement with your childminder is fab though! Saves paying the childminder/nursery during the holidays so you keep the place.

Oh when I was working full time in school last year I was contracted to 39/39 hours - 9-3.30pm a day, 5 days a week.

Thats no use sorry :(

:doh: Forgot about teachers :doh: But Im assuming its a bit different as you have no option but to be off on the school holidays :think:

Dont worry about being useful hun, always nice to see a reply from you :hug:

Yeah we have no option regarding the holidays but its not a bad one ;)

:lol: Thanks. I'm more useless than useful

We get paid over the holidays too. Its spilt up over the full year so I really am not much help :lol:

But I suppose if you worked in a school doing admin or something you would be paid the same way as the teachers but don't quote me on it