Climbing Ladders

FirstBabyEek

Reaction score
Morning lovely ladies!

I work in construction and carry out house surveys. I'm under considerable pressure from a lady (she's not my boss) at my work to continue doing surveys, which makes up part of my workload, not all however.

The thing is, I'm worried about doing a survey as it means lugging a large reasonably heavy ladder around and also climbing it. I'm less bothered about climbing it, but I am bothered about carrying it and moving it into postion to look at roofs or loft spaces.

Am I being unreasonable if I say no? Can I get into trouble? Does anyone know of any guidence notes on the use of ladders when pregnant?

Sorry if this is a bit of a ramble, but she really upset me with her unthoughtful comments about 'well the business wont make any money if you dont' :-(

Any advice on how to tackle this would be gratefully recieved.

xx

id say you have every right to refuse, have you been giving a risk assesment by your employer?
they should find you other things to do, first thing i was told at my work place is NO ladders!
hope you get it sorted soon :) xx

At the end of the day, you need to put yourself and your baby first - you don't want to risk harming him/her! Why don't you talk to your boss? Have you had a risk assessment done? I'm a carer, and pregnant women at my place aren't even allowed to go shopping with our service users because of lifting the bags! Hope you sort it out soon :)

Thanks for your replies, I really appreciate it. They havent done a risk assessment, I didnt realise that they had to.

I agree, I need to put my LO first and two hoots to what they think really, they might not like it. I just wondered if they could give me a disciplinary if I refuse? I dont see how but I've checked on google and dont see any specific H&S notes on working at heights for pregnant ladies...
xx