Anyone know employment law?

ema-lou24

Reaction score
Ok so this could be quite long but I will keep it brief!

I work as a private carer for a lady who lives with her daughter. I look after the mum. The daughter is lovely and genuinly needed help regarding the care of her mother while she returned to work etc.
Anyway, get along fine with the whole family and loved the job.

Then I got signed off work :-( due to a haemorhaggic ovarian cyst, doesn't sound that serious but my god it's agony.
Anyway, due to this she had to take some time off her own work and then get another carer in.....which in munster, this wasn't really my problem, can't help the fact I'm not well.
So a week into my sickness, where I handed in the sick note in the time needed, tried to contact her the night before to tell her I was gonna be off for a further week, and left messages cos she wasn't home.
I then receive a letter, asking me not to return back to work until I am willing to attend a disciplinary interview. WTF? In the letter she states that me being off sick has put stress on the other carers and that I "refused" to contact her regarding my sick leave. Which is bullshit.

I thought it was illegal to contact the employee while off sick and have a doctors line, ESP asking for a me to attend a disciplinary interview.

So my problem is, I am still not well, so I will more than likely be signed off again so cannot attend this interview, but not once has she said in that letter that I won't be getting paid.

My last pay was 2days before Xmas, I worked all over Xmas and new yr and was signed off the week of the 10th. I know I will probably only get SSP, but I'm still entitled to get paid for the work I done before I got signed off.
But I haven't received it yet.
Can she refuse to pay me cos I'm not working there at the moment?
Can she sack me?

I actually want to leave anyway to be honest. They are turning out to be nasty people.

Any help will be greatly appreciated xx