Worried my doctor isnt telling me something....

futuremummy237

Reaction score
Okay, this sounds like i'm being paranoid (plenty of that in pregnancy) but I need some advice about my doctors appointment the other day (sorry about the essay!).....

I'm a nurse and have been on nights for 2 weeks. I've been ill with a chest infection for about 10 weeks, and i'm one of these people who definitely doesn't practice what they preach and hardly ever go to the drs unless i'm desperate. Anyhow, on my last 2 nights I have felt really faint, had palpatations and so have got my collegues to do my observations, which has shown that my blood pressure is higher than normal for me. I normally have a systolic (the top number of a BP) of around 100 to 120, which is absolutely fine. However, now it is rarely underneath 150. Also, my blood sugar was low at 4 despite me eating lots. Now if these were in my patients, I wouldnt be worried but because they are out of my norm, I was.

So, I went to my drs and said i'm finding it difficult at work because I keep being faint, having palpitations and my hips and back are killing me, and I also have this chest infection going on (I should have gone ages ago really).

Anyway, he has given me antibiotics to take for the CI. But when he did my BP, he did it 3 times in the space of 10 mins, and said after each time said 'Oh i will do it in a minute to see if it settles' and then he never told me what it was. He's booked me in on thursday to 'check if the antibitoics are working' but I doubt there will be much of a difference in 3 days of oral abx so I wonder if he has alterior motives because of my BP. And he has signed me off work for 10 days.

Hmmm, what do you think? Am I just being paranoid? Sorry about the essay, my posts are always long!

x