Working while pregnant with twins

ChristineW

Reaction score
Hey girls,

A bit of background info! I'm a high school English teacher, and started teaching at a new school at the beginning of last academic year; hubby and I weren't trying for a baby, but over summer we were blessed with an unexpected pregnancy. I told the headmistress very early on that I would be willing to teach until I hit 36 weeks, when I'd start my maternity leave.
To cut a long story short, we got a little more baby than we bargained for, and with that comes a lot more bump! I'm 31 weeks now with two big baby boys, and I am absolutely huge, but staying on at the school out of guilt more than anything else.
Do any of you have any tips for working whilst vastly pregnant? I'm having a bit of a tough time!

Last edited:
Get out of there!
I have the same job and originally I was 'encouraged' to work up until 38 weeks! I spoke to my PTC who is really understanding and made sure I gave her plenty of notice before pulling my mat leave date back a bit. I'm working this week then that's me. Finishing up at just over 35weeks, which I don't think is unreasonable for my first.
I know how you feel though. Schools are stretched so much right now and even taking an afternoon for appointments has felt like I'm putting extra strain on colleagues who then have to cover, not to mention leaving the kids with 'cover work' which is never as productive.
But I know that this is a better decision. If I pushed too far and ended up I'll or in early labour is be leaving them in the lurch with little notice. At least this way they have a set date in mind to work towards and be organised for.
Besides, I'm only having the 1 and twins tend to come much earlier. Keep yourself and them safe xx

Sent from my Hudl 2 using Tapatalk

How very sensible of you!
No, that's not unreasonable at all, and I'm glad your PTC has been so understanding.