Work and early pregnancy

Rhelen91

Reaction score
I work in retail, and today I'm on the closing shift, starting at 2pm. So I have to do all the cleaning at the end. Collapsing the trolleys in the stock room, hoovering all the mats at the front of the store, carrying the hanger boxes from the shop floor up to the stockroom and emptying them, polishing the tillpoints, cleaning the changing rooms and then sweeping and mopping the shop floor. This usually takes an hour to complete with 2 of us, but tonight its just me. I'm feeling a bit worried, like I shouldn't be doing it all when pregnant, especially the lifting and carrying things up stairs!

Also during my shift on the shop floor I have to remain standing or walking around, as we dont have any stools or seats behind the till points. During my last pregnancy I was told there simply isnt room to put a stool or seat, and that I'd just have to deal with standing for long periods of time. I was still expected to carry out most of my regular duties, including pulling the trolleys, lifting, bending, etc.

What does everybody else do at at work? And how are you coping with balancing work and pregnancy?

Hi RHelen91. From what i have read on the government websites regarding the rights of pregnant employees, your employer has a duty of care towards you during this time. You ccan request for a shift with less manual work involved and they will have to work with you on that. You should put it in writing to them. According to the law employers should make life easier and safer for pregnant employees. Good luck

Last edited:
I feel your pain :( I'm a nurse doing 13 hour shifts on a busy medical ward.... It's pretty gruelling, but the tiredness has eased off a lot!!! So it's getting a little easier at the minute but I'm dreading 3rd trimester for the work side of things :( xxxx