Want to start BBT, any advice?

Sharcaz

Reaction score
Hey ladies,

I'm keen to try and start charting BBT, I've tried it before but kept forgetting! And if I set an alarm I'd wake up suddenly and wondered if the surprise changes your temp?? How accurate is it and when/how's best?

I've been doing OPK's, last month I got a positive over 2 days but this time nothing's coming up! So I thought doing BBT too will help figure out what's happening :)

Thanks for any tips!! xxx

I have no tips but will be watching this thread closely - I've never tried temping before but if we don't conceive this month il be doing it next cycle.. do you start on cd1? or after af has finished? x

No idea BonQui, I'm on cd20 now so I'm just going to start right away :) I was hopeful this month but the lack of a positive opk has thrown me :( I'm using the Ovia app to track everything! Good luck and fx for you this month, when are you testing :) x

I can try help with what I know but it's a royal pain the butt.

I've done it for a few months, so firstly you need atleast 2/3 months of it to get an average idea of how your temp goes and start the day after AF.

Make sure you do it exactly the same time every day as it will totally throw your chart off and you'll have to disguard them. I dont think it really matters about the alarm clock thing (as it's how most people wake anyway these days) but just make sure it is the same time and as soon as you wake.

Few little things, if you breath through your mouth or struggle to breath through your nose it might be better to do it vaginally but that temps gonna differ from taking it from your mouth. So that's nothing to worry about.

Also make sure it's a proper BBT thermometer (I didn't for my first month :().

Oh edit cause I re-read - Use Fertility friend! It's amazing with its charting (you can compare your charts with other ladies) and you get it free your first month.

Hope this helps xx

Last edited: