Total newb! 11lb newborn feeds??

Jellybeanjen

Reaction score
Well...we have been trying to feed her enough so she is full but not too much that it gives her tummy ache. It's really hard!! On the formula it says for her age should be 90ml 6 feeds per 24 hrs but it's not enough and she is still hungry. For her weight it says 180ml 5 feeds per 24hrs...but it seems to give her a bad belly having that much.

I am seeing midwife tomo so can aske her but just wondered what other mums with large greedy babies do?

We thought maybe giving her 90ml but every 2/3 hrs to keep he satisfied and can wind her and hopefully no tummy ache. What do you reckon?

I feel like such a crappy mum with these things but it's all trial an error I suppose lol. Xxx

Tapatalking so I can't see sigs x

i always just went by my baby, if they drank 3oz id make 4 in a bottle just in case they wanted more, then when they drank 4 id make 5. i did waste a little milk but baby was happy so a little milk was least of my worries x x x

ignore what the formula tin says. Not all babies conform to that.

we just fed on demand. So go with her, when she gives hungry signals, feed her. offer her a 5oz bottle and let her take what she wants. Then let her tell you when she is hungry again.

she will eventually settle into a better pattern of every 2, 3 or 4hrs.

sounds like she has a good healthy appetite!

I would say feed on demand.. But with caution.. LOL I used to feed J on demand then he got silent reflux and would eat and eat then he'd be all bunged up wouldn't sleep and just cried. Thankfully it died down. But he would take 5oz every 3h HV says that's a good healthy feed but then when it bunged him up the other Hv says that's far too much.

We had to go roughly on hours.. I'd give a 4oz feed then if he wanted fed quite soon after I'd have to cut the oz. It was hard but we had to do it. Its not like I was deliberately overfeeding evry 3h you'd think he was starved it was a shame.