Time to tell?

kellysomer

Reaction score
I know i have only just found out that i am preganant but i wondered how long i should leave it before we break the news to our families and friends?

Also at what time can i expect to start showing roughly?

:D I am just :) so excited!

Hi there,

I'm telling my parents this week (week 8) - surpsising my Mum on her birthday, but we're waiting until the 12th week before telling anyone besides immediate family. That's what a lot of people recommend as after the 12th week the risk of miscarriage is minimal.

It's worked out perfectly for me as I'm a teacher so I'll just be able to tell everyone when I go back to work at end of august.

It's up to you when you tell people but a lot of people leave it until 12 weeks as you risk of miscarriage drops and normally you'll have a scan around that time so you know everything is going ok, i told my parents at 8 weeks because i was emigrating.

I noticed my belly getting bigger around 10 weeks but other people didn't notice until around 17 weeks.

Congratulations and good luck with the pregnancy :)

Hi hun,

Nice to see you here!!

I just PM'd you about this. I never understand why people wait so long to tell people. I always tell people really early as if (god forbid) I did suffer a miscarriage then I would want everyone to know what was wrong and to help me through it, I can't think of anything worse than telling people 'I was pregant but now I have had a miscarriage' - its so much for people to take on board that they run a mile and don't know what to say, where as if they know about the pregnancy then they are more likely to be able to support you.

Anyway, this is just my feeling and I don't expect everyone to agree. We all have to do what we feel is right for us and our families.

Much love

Oh, forgot to add......

with my first I started to show about 12-16 weeks where as now with my third I am showing already at 8-9 weeks!!!

Much love