Thinking about starting fertility journey soon

Jemjem2905

Reaction score
Hi
I am currently wide awake thinking things through

so me and my husband have been together 7 years this month and married 5 years next month and we pretty much decided straight away we wanted a family so I came off the pill and we got tests done to make sure we never had any STDs or anything and we were both ok so decided to stop using protection and me off the pill.

so fast forward to now and nothing has happened and we have tried fertility and they said I need to have lost 3 stone for private and 5 stone for nhs (we are happy to pay for fertility, as family are helping us pay for it too)

our main issues are hubby having problems with ejaculation and the doctor in the past at fertility said we would need iui more than anything

so just looking for any advice on the fertility journey and if anyone has had iui or what process is required

thanks for any advice

I’ve had no experience but didn’t want to read and run.

I wish you all the luck in the world with your fertility journey and fx it’s a short one xx

I had to lose a large amount of weight for fertility treatment and it is wise to do this before starting the process as most places won’t go ahead with much until this happens, you can get all the testing done first.

if the issue is simply with ejaculation and nothing on your side they will perhaps try an unmedicated cycle. IUI is where they place the semen into your uterus when you ovulate to make sure the swimmers are where they need to be. You may have a mild sedative during the procedure as it can be a little uncomfortable.

I have a friend who had a similar issue, he struggled to ejaculate during sex but he could when masturbating. So they bought insemination syringes (ones that just put the sperm by your cervix) and they tracked ovulation and did a home insemination that worked the second cycle..... this could be something you try? Xx