Strangers touching your bump?!

fairyprincess

Reaction score
So, I've only had a little bump for a couple of weeks now but everybody seems obsessed with touching it! I don't mind if it's DH or my Mum but just random people want to touch it.

On Sunday we went out for lunch and I bumped into an old colleague (like I just about remembered her name and where I knew her from). I've never touched or hugged this woman but she seemed to think it was ok to keep rubbing my bump!

Anyone else found this? X

Yep, I work in a restaurant and every customer has to comment or try to touch it. I haven't let anyone touch me, I think it's incredibly rude and down right odd.

I was in a works meeting and the lady next to me insisted on rubbing my back and have one hand on my bump the whole meeting - I'm normally quiet an abrupt sort of person but I was so shocked I I couldn't bring myself to say anything and just let it happen!! So bizarre!! X

It's more than rude, if a midwife or doctor doesn't ask first or tell you what they're going to do so you can refuse it, they can be done for assault if you're not happy with it.

Not sure how far things extend in general dealings with other people, but I'd be offended if someone didn't at least ask first. I always ask. They'd not just touch your baby in it's pram these days so why touch it before it's even born?? Some people are very odd though.

My step-mum was kind of waving at my tummy when they were leaving the other weekend and brushed my tummy by accident but I know she didn't mean to do that. She never had her own kids (she's nearly 60) so I like how happy my DsS, niece and this LO seem to make her.

I was in a works meeting and the lady next to me insisted on rubbing my back and have one hand on my bump the whole meeting - I'm normally quiet an abrupt sort of person but I was so shocked I I couldn't bring myself to say anything and just let it happen!! So bizarre!! X

Possibly the oddest thing I've ever heard...