Slow cookers

Mamafy

Reaction score
Any recommendations to a total novice slow cooker user?

What should I know?

Last edited:
We have a BIG Crock Pot. My hubby buys stuff like that so we had to have the all singing and dancing one....:roll:

You'l be ok with a big one I'd imagine because it's probably like the wedding at Canna round yours for tea but if you're a family of 3 or 4 a massive one isnt great when doing things like curry, chilli stew UNLESS you have plenty of freezer space and tupperware! :lol:

We have a programmable one and I think that's a good feature. Means you can set it off and forget about it without overcooking. It will flick to a warming setting when cooked :)

See this is the part I've never got :wall:

If I wanted say a stew done in 4 hours could it?

Are you going out (in this scenario) for longer than 4 hours?

Its really a fast cooker I need :rofl:

Well then yeah you just throw it all in and stick it on :) There's 2 settings on mine plus the warming one which is mega low but keeps it hot to serve straight away.

It would be handy for days I have to be away in the afternoon, I could prepare all and presumably theres a timer on them?

Yep. Throw it all in and switch on. #1 if you can leave it say 7 hours and #2 if you dont put it in early. The longer teh better with stew and the like. :)

Very tempted to get one for xmas, can't beat a xmas gadget that gets used twice :oops:

:rofl: I thought ours would be like that but it's still on the go :)

:lol:

You might have swung it for me, I'd imagine they'd taste better having cooked longer :)

Deffo. The longer the better - they soak all the flavours up and the meat gets really tender. :)

Mine was from ASDA for something like £20 theres a high low and warm setting ...its brilliant! Sometimes I start dinner late morning or early afternoon depending what it is :D

chilli
spag bol
stew (beef and chicken)

^ thats all I can do in mine LOL