slings

firsttimemum29

Reaction score
Hi,
Anyone got any recommendations on which slings are good (or not)? Am thinking of getting a wrap style one and a buggy board rather than double buggy for when baby 2 arrives in April. Thanks.

I'm using a stretchy wrap by boba at the mo. They're suitable from newborn apparently although I only recently started using it at 12 weeks. I'm not a sling expert by any means and it's the first one I've used but it's really easy to put on and get baby in and out of.
Go for a proper brand and not a cheap one from eBay is what I was told. You'll spend more money but you've got the knowledge that it's safe for baby. Have a look see if there's a sling library near you, you'll be able to try different ones on and rent some for a small fee x

Do you have a local sling library near you, a lot of places do. Our local one is run by the breastfeeding support group so they might have details or ask on your local Facebook selling page if anyone knows. These libraries will often lend you slings to try out so you can see which one suits you best before buying, as they can all be so different xx

Yes sling libraries are good.. I bought a second hand Moby wrap off Gumtree, it's a stretchy wrap similar to what Ruby's describing. I just much preferred the thought of a soft stretchy wrap though they can't be used for as long as some other styles of carrier. That's why I bought one second hand though so I didn't feel bad if I didn't use it much x

Thank you for the advice. There is a sling library near me which I have contacted. Did u all wait until baby was here until you bought one or bought one before? Ive got pram etc from my first but am worried about not having a way of transporting around 2 straight away. The other thing in the back of my mind is that baby is due in April so sling might be used a lot over the summer & dont want baby to get too hot.