scans: dangerous?

melhoney

Reaction score
hi everyone!

I have had an early scan at 7 weeks, and we saw the heartbeat of our little sweety, but since then, I have been trhough quite a few worries, about m/c and my symptoms have kind of faded away. I am 10 weeks now, so I reckon it's a bit too early for this to happen. I am spending my holidays in pakistan, in my family-in-law, and here you can just book a scan whenever you want, and it's cheap (around 5 pounds!) So I have booked one for tomorrow, as I thought it will give me an idea of what's happening...I just hope it's only me worrying for no reasons!
Anyway, I just wondered if scans were dangerous for babies, as I would not like to take an extra risk, of course!
I have tried to find answers on the net, but I have read so many different opinions, that I am now confused!
help me, please! Can anyone tell me?

Hi

I'm no expert but I got a leaflet from the hospital about scans and it says there's no evidence to suggest they are harmful.

Lucky you being able to just get one like that, I hope it goes well for you. xx

Hiya Mel

There has been some suggestion in the past that scans may be dangerous, but it is so far unfounded.
As scans merely transmit sound waves into pictures, I personally struggle to comprehend how they could be dangerous.

Due to a complicated medical history, I have had scans as 5, 6, 8,9, 10,12, 20 and 24 weeks and baby is just fine!

At such a cheap price, I would go for it! - Enjoy!

Thanks kim and rachael for your replies.
Rachael, your post has settled my mind, and I am going to go for it, because I am sooooooooooo worried. Last night, I have had nightmares after nightmares, and I need to put my mind at rest!
Still 12 hours to wait, and hopefully, I will know!

I just need to see the little one and his/her heartbeat!!!!
I will keep you informed, I will post again tonight.

Take care,

mel xx

silly me, not 12 hours to go, only 7 hours!!!! but it feels like 12 hours anyway!

Hi,