Returning to uni to finish midwifery training*UPDATE*

EllieG

Reaction score
I can not believe ten months has passed since I wrote this. My maternity leave has officially run out! I have to return in January or leave the course all together, I feel I have done too much hard work to get to this point, just to throw it away. I think my problem is really lack confidence, so need to work on that - anyone any ideas? have thought about going for hypnosis? All the oter problems too, such as child care and money, but I suppose they will always be there and once I have finished, I will have a life long qualifacation.
So....here goes....am bloody terrified arrrrgggghhhh

I have been so lucky and able to spend the best part of a year(by the time i am due to go back), with Freya. I am a student midwife and have completed almost 2 of the 3 year course, but everytime I think of leaving her it breaks my heart. On one hand I feel so lucky to be on the course as it is so difficult to get on and the spaces are few, but feel guilty on the other. I will be out of the house at least 40 hours a week, including nights, earlys and lates, thats not to mention the coursework. I qualify august 2009 if I go back and then could work part time, Freya would be just over 2 but it does mean 18 months of full time child care, which I am not sure I can afford.
The course is also really difficult and I struggle to go in to work sometimes, I love working in the community and have a fantastic mentor, but would cry before going on delivery suite as I was so worried about being incompetent, didnt know what I was walking into, and didnt always get on with the staff (some are lovely but there were a few cliques).