Random question for working mums/mum's to be?

MrsS15

Reaction score
Would you quit or go part time if you could?

I'm a full time nurse and desperate to reduce my hours. But don't know if that seems lazy, expecting my hubby to bring home the bacon? :roll: just would like some opinions if you don't mind.

My hubby worked full time and also had his own business on the side part time. He's now quit his full time job and working for himself full time. He's doing very well at the moment so fingers crossed it continues! Our monthly outgoings are quite high (about 2k, biggish mortgage, 2 cars etc) and we're also renovating our house, we've got about 8k more of work to do. My hubby's wage could pay all the bills and we could comfortably live but wouldn't have the same spare money, doing the house would take longer etc. If I dropped my hours to about 25 I'd earn about 1200/1300 a month so would still bring home money but not as much. I just don't know if it's selfish of me for putting it all on him?

We're desperately hoping to have a baby soon so going part time would be after a baby is born. I really don't want to work the long unsociable hours that I have with my son, I've struggled with guilt and hated being away from him! Would you reduce your hours if you could? Or be a housewife full time? Lol. Would you have in your head a certain amount your hubby would need to earn?

Any opinions would be fab :) xx

I'm hoping to go back part time if my work agree to it. It's going to be a massive drop in money but i work shifts with silly hours and want to cut if from 5 days a week to 3 as I feel like I barely see my daughter as it is let alone when there are 2 of them! If it's all affordable I don't see why going part time would cause any issues :)

I work part time (26 hours across four days) and have done since my son was 9 months. My partner doesn't mind and we both like that I am with our son as much as possible