Please Share Meningitis B Petition

Clover

Reaction score
Hi Girls, as you may of seen on the news, 2 year old Faye contracted Meningitis B and Died on 14th Feburary 2016, after fighting the disease for 11 days, Her parents are campaigning to have all children vaccinated against Meningitis B
There is an online petition you can sign

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-kent-35596857

xxxxxx

There is a meningitis B vaccine my little one has had it at 8 weeks and his last one at 4 months...or is it not available to everyone? Sorry I'm a bit confused. Xxx

Hi Hun,
yeah it is a bit confusing, The Meningitis B vaccine only came into the schedule in September 2015 and its only given to babies born after the 1st May 2015 so all babies/children born before then do not get it in the UK immunisation schedule,
It is available to have privately but the cost is about £100-200

I'm a childrens immunisation nurse so any questions I will do my best to answer :)

xxxxxx

I went to my paediatrician in January and she mentioned started babbling about vaccinations despite the fact that I was there for his speech delay and his possible allergies..

Anyway, when I mentioned the fact that Men C back in the day had a massive hysteria created just to get everyone to come in to get a catch up(I remember going in after seeing on the kids news, loads of little villages had contracted it and they went as far as showing a contracted and death count on the news to scare kids about men C) even then doctors admitted that men B was still more of a problem than men C and men C was merely a hysteria created by the media.. (I read this in a medical journal that hasn't been discredited)