Partners Very Low Sperm Count

gemmainthesun

Reaction score
Hi, just wondred if anyone dealing with the same thing wanted to discuss it, provide support, share stories..offer hope!

We have been TTC for 2 years, Im 26, OH is 35. We found out in Nov he has low sperm count... 4.5mil per ml and 25 mil overall. We live in spain so not sure on all the bits cos of translation but doctor said Sperm is good just very low. We have been refered for IVF but not heard back yet on when it will be. :roll:

Feel really crappy today after seeing too many friends, family give birth to beautiful babies... 1 every day for 3 days consecutive!!
Im not unhappy for them, Im just abit, well jealous I suppose, it upsets me cos I know for us it wont be simple and ive always wanted children since I can remember. I was a nursery Nurse before I moved here, love kids.

Its hard because when I feel down I dont want to let on too much for him, because I know it affects him, I know he feels insecure about it and likes he's a failure..everything with me came back fine.

Anyone got any success stories with low sperm, or got any advice? Just need someone to talk to who understands... much love xxx

hi, welcome!!

Have you had any tests done to ensure that the problem may only be with your partner?

if you are ok, and it is your partner, get him on a pre-conception vitamin, ie "pregnacare pre-conception" or "santogen father to be" to ensure he is getting the correct nutrition. make sure he is doing the basics, no cycling, no laptop on lap (because of the heat), no heated seats in car etc.

regarding the numbers if teh doc said teh sperm is fine but the quantity is bad, dont worry it only takes one to make a baby!! i'm not sure of the protocol in Spain but is IVF the first thing to try - how about IUI?