Novel beta readers :)

SockVortex

Reaction score
Sorry to clutter up the forum with non-pregnancy related stuff but I figured this could be a good distraction for anyone wanting to take their minds of TTC.

I've been writing a book for six years and am looking for beta readers for the most recent draft!

The novel is called The Liar, the Thief and the Gallows. It's a young adult historical fantasy and is 96k words long. I can format the document to be Kindle (and most e-reader formats) readable but will also happily send a PDF file if that's easier.

The novel will be ready for sending no later than the 1st of November.

So what does SockVortex need?

1. Roughly a month of your time (dependent on how fast you read)

2. Your willingness to fill out some feedback forms! I work in market research (as a graphic designer but it rubs off on you haha) and have developed some simple questionnaires with two short questions per chapter. The idea is that every four chapters you can request a questionnaire and then fill it out and email it back to me before you lose track of your thoughts about those particular chapters. This way you're not answering twenty seven chapters worth of questions at the end of the book when you might not remember the start as well as you'd like.

What will you get in return?

1. A free copy of my book.

2. The newly designed artwork of the front cover.

3. The pleasure of knowing you've really helped someone out?

4. A promise to be listed by name in the acknowledgment's section if it's ever published as a real book!

Ok, tempt me! What's the book about?

Here's the blurb!

On her seventeenth birthday, Princess Ayella receives two presents. The first is the truth: the brother she thought was dead is alive. The second is a lie: a secret betrothal to the Frankish Prince Javey, designed to end in his murder at her hand.