need advice on dress making please!

kat1988

Reaction score
hiya basically I'm hoping to make my daughters dress for her blessing next year, it's not untill march so I've got plenty of time to practice but I'm sure sure how to go about it as I've not made anything similar before!

a few questions, how do I know what size to make it (she'll be a year old then)

and where do I start lol!?

any advice would be much appriciated, thanks! xx

I'm no expert so someone may have some better advice but I would buy a cheap dress for a one year old from a charity shop and use it to make a paper copy to give you ideas of size then you can use that to design from there or you can buy dress patterns from sewing shops and online if you wanted like this http://www.ebay.co.uk/bhp/childrens-dress-patterns?_trksid=p2045573.m2388

Hope I called a little

that does help thank u! I was thinking about raiding charity shops for material anyway as the only fabric shop in town is really expensive.

do u know of any good websites or books that might have helpful tips?

I was just about to suggest buying a charity shop cheapie to use as your template. Not sure about websites, but whenever I'm working on a new sewing project and attempting things I've never done before, I go straight to YouTube and there's usually at least one amazing tutorial to get me started :)

Good luck xx

Last edited:
Sorry don't know any websites but was going to suggest you try looking for blogs but you tube is a good ides

thanks ladies ill have a search about when the small one's asleep later and see what I can find xx

dont know if its to late but i find car boot sales are ace for fabric, sheets curtains and random rolls all show up in great colours and patterns.
Good luckw ith your project and post photos of your creations!!
x Daisy