Lack of maternity shops? University Projects Views needed.

queensstudent

Reaction score
Hi. I am currently studying a business degree at university and one our projects is coming up with a business idea. My group has noticed that there is a lack of maternity stores and are deciding to make our business idea of one shop with all ranges of maternity clothes, such as work wear, formal wear, wedding wear, bed wear.. etc. ( keep in mind we are only doing this as a project and not actually opening the shop). We also are planning on stocking books, vitamins and also have in-store advice available from our staff on pregnancy, Basically we want some views on the lack of maternity stores in the UK and Northern Ireland to back up our work. It would really help us with our presentation to get some good views.
many thanks

Yes yes yes! Even though I am not really showing, I bought a pair of normal jeans a size up and felt frumpy, bought maternity jeans in my size and it felt amazing felt normal but still comfortable. So, I want more, can I find them? No.
Totally agree, not enough option, places for maternity stuff! Couldn't believe it!
The only things I found was about 10 items in the back of new look! Ok you can buy online but you need to try stuff on! And would be great if it all wasn't so expensive too, trying to save for the baby lol.
You guys should open the shop, id go!

And plus sized stuff too - I've never seen any in shops at all x

It's so hard to find petite maternity wear!! I have difficulty finding clothes that fit when I'm not pregnant but it's so hard to find anything when pregnant. It's mainly trousers I struggle with. Most places have also stopped stocking mat wear instore and say it's only available online! No good if you need something quickly. I also find places like Mothercare and Mamas and Papas on the expensive side, not willing to pay stupid prices for something I'll wear for a few months!