Labour - How Much Time???

H4L

Reaction score
Im wondering (worrying) how much time im going to have to get to my wife. Ive mentioned before im a nightshift lorry driver and travel from near Glasgow to Liverpool and back each night. The other night one of my tyres blew out on the motorway leaving me stranded at roadside overnight and then all the next day away from home before coming up the road again the next night. Now thats unusual but normally im away between 5pm and 4am. You just know thats when the wee one is going to want to make her entrance to the world.

My work have said they will sort my leave out once we have the child so that im not booking any time off i dont need. They also said they would prefer other than me going on a shift and having to abort the mission that if my wife felt she was due then to not come in that night. That all sounds too easy lol so we know im going to be on route to Liverpool when it happens.

So how much time have i realistically got. The class i attended with the midwife made it sound like ive got ages through the labour period and should be ok for time. Im looking for how long you ladies have been in Labour for and do you know when to call your men? Her mum will be with her for the last week as shes getting near when im on nightshift and my mum and brother are just round the corner. Obviously i dont want to miss potentially my only child being born or supporting my wife but ive just got this feeling that ill be away and that will mean years of.........

Mrs H4L: "what do you care, you couldnt even be there for the birth"

Baby H4L: "screw you Dad you werent even there for me when i was born"

:lol: lighthearted but you get where im coming from.

Last edited:
I was induced usually they play out ages but I was only 7h from first contractions.

I laboured alone until my waters went at 2.30, OH was called at 3am there for 3.30 and I had J at 4.26am.

PS I am from Glasgow :) well, Clydebank now.

xxxx