just discovered im pregnant with my second child, but.......

Kirstik

Reaction score
I have taken a pregnancy test today 1st of of due cycle and it was positive - yippee!! I have a couple of questions which i feel a little embarrassed about seen as my daughter is nearly 3 so it wasn't that long ago that I was in this position before, however, I hope some of you may be able to help. :pray:

1. what is the likelihood of losing? I lost a second child at 8 weeks, however, I fell pregnant only 3 months after my daughter was born and I was given the same due date, scan date etc, yet (eery!) and i just told myself that it wasn't meant to be and that my body just wasn't ready.

2. how soon did any of you tell your employer, I am a college lecturer and unfortunately am only on a variable hours contract and seen as my due date will probably be sometime in September then I would imagine that they will just say they won't need me in September as there isn't enough hours etc. So am a little worried about when to tell him, what did others do?

3. Can you get your hair highlighted when you're pregnant. I am due to get this done on Thursday but want to check first.

Any advice appreciated. Thank you

congrats!
Obviously everyone has a chance of losing, we all just have to stay positive, the first 12 weeks are the most important and the risk lessens after this.
I got told off for not telling my employer, i didnt know and just asked for time off for a scan and they moaned that i did not tell them, so i guess you need to tell them straight away, but, you dont get your MATB1 form until you are 20 weeks.This is a form your employer needs and they kept bugging me for it. I do not know if this is different in different areas.
As for the hair i was told highlighting is fine as the bleach only touches the hair not the scalpe, although it may so funny due to your hormones.
This is what i have been told anyway so what i have said is not gospel.
Ami