Info about early symptoms/testing/HCG

Kittykins

Reaction score
I've found myself mentioning the stuff below at various points over the past few months so thought I'd put it in a new thread for people to see.

I'm not an expert, this is just stuff I've read/been told/found on the internet and happen to have collated.

How do pregnancy tests work?

Lots of women ask how early they can test for pregnancy. Home pregnancy tests (HPTs) work by detecting a particular hormone, HCG, in the urine. HCG has a similar structure to luteinising hormone (LH), but with an 'extra bit'. LH is detected by ovulation predictor kits (OPKs), which is why an OPK may pick up pregnancy but an HPT won't detect ovulation.

However, whilst all women have a certain amount of LH present in their urine throughout the cycle (which is why an OPK is not a good substitute - some women will always get faint lines on OPKs), HCG is only produced in pregnancy and specifically, after the fertilised egg (blastocyst) has implanted. This means that HPTs will not detect pregnancy until after implantation. Implantation usually occurs between 7 and 10 days after ovulation. In most cases, the hormone takes 12-48 hours to appear in urine. The levels are low to begin with (1-5mi) and should double roughly every 36-48 hours. Most HPTs detect HCG at levels of 25mi+; some claim to detect at 10mi. First morning urine is least diluted, which is why it is recommended to test first thing in the morning (N.B. OPKs are usually directed for use later in the day - the LH surge normally begins early morning and takes 6hrs+ to appear in urine samples).

How early can I test?