I am renting and need some advice

futuremum

Reaction score
Hello!!

I have been renting this property for nearly 10 months now. I have signed a contract for 6 six months, contract which expired the 25th of June. Since that date, i did not hear from the agency so thought it was cool.
I have a very fussy landlord, who refused to have the 3rd bedroom done as a nursery for the baby. Basically, his house needs modernising big time but he is not ready to do anything about it. For example: there are loads of trees in front of the windows downstairs, which means we never have any light during the day, so we spend all our time upstairs otherwise we get depressed after 5 minutes being downstairs. The wallpapers are from the 60s-70s and the curtains are dark velvet colours which makes the place even darker. He forbade us to take his furniture to the garage to put our own and we respected that. The shower unit did not work for months, could not get any warm water and the shower unit dates from the 70s, there is only one tap to turn and if you want more hot water you need to decrease the flow of the water, which made having a shower not very practical. Those are just a few examples of the state of the house, which is not bad but need modernising and brightening up!!
We agreed not to change anything, to leave the horrible 70s yellow paper with embroided flowers on the wall for the nursery and those horrible pink curtains( knowing am having a boy lol). The landlord keeps turning up without warning us because the neighbour is his mate(shall i precise the neighbour tells him evrything that we do...), i mentionned it to the agency but nothing has happened. The agency came 5 times since we moved in to inspect the house....