How Long does sperm live? Contrasting Views!!!!

Julia

Reaction score
I have read that sperm can live up to 5 - 7 days....then again I have heard just 48 hours...we bd on my first day of LH surge...if I ovulated 48 hours later would the sperm still be alive?

According to the 'Taking Control of your Fertility' book mentioned on the other thread(s), it can survive for up to 5 days.
Lucyx

When I was in college I took a couple of classes that discussed this (I have a degree in biology). I believe that boy sperm swim slower and live longer and girl sperm swim faster and die sooner. But that all together 72 hours is their lifespan. I don't have any hard eveidence to prove it, but that is what I remember from Genetics and Embryology class.

BABY DUST STORM!!!!!!!!!

Thanks all! So shall we say between 3 - 5 days? That's okay then...hope they can swim now!!!

Julia

If you BD on the day of your LH surge you should be fine. It's on that day and the next one that you're most fertile. I believe after the LH surge ovulation will take place in 12-36 hours. I think this span is because you can't really know if the darker line indicates the peak of the surge, if you're catching it on the way up or on the way down. Does this help?

Moonpiesb,

I have read your posts and I'm so sorry last time didn't work out for you.
Not that it matters much since what most ladies want is a healthy baby no matter what the gender is but it's boy sperm that swim faster and die sooner and girl sperm that swim slower and live longer.
I'm pretty sure this is what you meant anyway

Take care

Will you give it another try this month? Good luck if you do so

xxxx

Wondering, thanks for you kind words. I will try again, but not this month. I am due to O next Monday, and it is a holiday here so my dr's office will be closed....JUST MY LUCK. So, I guess I will have to wait till next month.